University of the South Founding Site
735 University Avenue
Founded by the Southern dioceses of the Protestant Episcopal Church, The University of the South, Sewanee has been a haven for Southern artists, writers, musicians, dramatists, and intellectuals of all types since the 1860’s. The first cornerstone was laid in 1860, but construction was halted during the Civil War and did not resume until 1866. One of the schools founders was the Rt. Rev. Leondias Polk, a confederate general known as “the fighting bishop.”
The literary tradition at Sewanee has long been a point of pride for faculty, students, and alumni. Since 1892, the Sewanee Review has operated as the university’s literary magazine, and is thought to be the longest-running magazine of its type in the country. The success of the Sewanee Review led to the establishment of the summertime Sewanee Writer’s Conference. In addition, the university owns the literary rights of author Tennessee Williams. The funds generated by Williams’ body of work have afforded the school the opportunity to create the
, and Tennessee Williams teaching fellowships that draw notable writers from around the world.
The physical campus at The University of the South often is noted for its stunning gothic architecture. At 10,000 acres, it is one of the largest campuses in the country.