Otey Memorial Parish
216 University Avenue
Named for James Hervey Otey, the first Episcopal bishop of
and a chancellor of the University of the South, Otey Memorial Parish enjoys a long and rich history within the Episcopalian fabric of southeast
, and the South as a whole. The first Episcopal service at Sewanee was conducted by the Rt. Rev. William Mercer Green, Bishop of Mississippi, in the fall of 1858. Though elaborate religious services were held at the laying of the University of the South’s cornerstone in 1860, it was not until 1871 that a town parish was organized.
’s-on-the-Mountain, as the parish was then known, occupied its first church building in 1873. After nearly two decades in that original structure, the parish voted to build a larger, more substantial stone church. On Whitsunday of 1891 the parish held its first services in the current building. In celebration of its impressive new church and its unique relationship to the University and the region, the parish changed its name to Otey Memorial Parish.